The Team

The Barbarians side will be selected from a pool of Provincial Union players across the country and assemble for one week leading into the fixture on June 3 in Whangarei.

The New Zealand Barbarian Rugby Club has a proud tradition dating back to 1937, representing every region over the years.

2017 NZ Provincial Barbarians



  • Aidan Ross
  • Andrew Makalio
  • James Tucker
  • Josh Goodhue
  • Keepa Mewett
  • Lachlan Boshier
  • Marcel Renata
  • Matthew Matich
  • Mitchell Dunshea
  • Oliver Jager
  • Peter Rowe
  • Sam Anderson-Heather
  • Tolu Fahamokioa
  • Bryn Gatland
  • Dwayne Sweeney
  • Jack Stratton
  • Jonah Lowe
  • Junior Ngaluafe
  • Kaveinga Finau
  • Luteru Laulala
  • Richard Judd
  • Sam Vaka
  • Sevuloni Reece
Sam Warburton