All Blacks v Australia: A rivalry in numbers

Getty Images     20 Aug 2018     Getty Images

With another chapter set to be written in the rich history between the two sides at Eden Park this weekend, check out all the key numbers from their rivalry.

162: The All Blacks and Australia have met 162 times in Test matches with the All Blacks winning 112, Australia taking out 43 and there have been seven draws.


54: The All Blacks highest score against Australia was recorded in their 54-34 victory at Sydney’s ANZ Stadium in 2017.

32: It has been 32 years since Australia last defeated the All Blacks at Eden Park. On 6 September 1986, Australia beat the All Blacks 9-22 with David Campese and Andrew Leeds scoring tries.

115: It has been 115 years since the All Blacks and Australia played their first Test match. The All Blacks won the first Test 22-3 in Sydney. 

4: The All Blacks and Australia have met in four Rugby World Cup knockout matches. The Wallabies won semifinals in 1991 and 2003 while the All Blacks took out a semifinal in 2011 and the final in 2015.

90: All Blacks first five-eighth Beauden Barrett has scored 90 Test points against Australia – the most of any current All Black.

444: The All Blacks have scored 444 tries in Test matches against Australia while the Wallabies have crossed the All Blacks line 255 times.

11: With 11 tries each, Ma’a Nonu and Richie McCaw have scored the most tries by an individual against Australia. Adam Ashley-Cooper is the leading Wallaby try-scorer against the All Blacks with nine tries.

The All Blacks and Australia have played 48 Test matches against each other in the history of the Rugby Championship (since 1996). The average points scored per-Test in this time frame is 46.97.

109,874: The largest attendance for an international rugby match was recorded when the All Blacks defeated Australia 39-35 in a match dubbed ‘the game of the century’ in Sydney in 2000.

The All Blacks take on Australia in game two of the Bledisloe Cup and Investec Rugby Championship on Saturday 25 August at 7.35pm NZT.