Boks change two for second Investec Tri-Nations test

Getty Images

NZPA     14 Jul 2010     Getty Images

Both changes are in the forward pack, where suspended lock Bakkies Botha and injured prop Jannie du Plessis make way.

Botha, who was banned for nine weeks for a headbutt on New Zealand halfback Jimmy Cowan during last Saturday's 12-32 loss in Auckland, is replaced by Bulls teammate Danie Rossouw.

Du Plessis suffered a calf muscle injury during the test and is replaced by veteran tighthead CJ van der Linde.

Sharks No 8 Ryan Kankowski comes into the squad and is the only change to the reserves bench.

Coach Peter de Villiers has otherwise retained faith in the players stung by the 20-point hammering at Eden Park, and he has called for a massive improvement in all elements of their game this weekend.

Springboks: Zane Kirchner, Jean de Villiers, Jaque Fourie, Wynand Oliver, Bryan Habana, Morne Steyn, Ricky Januarie, Pierre Spies, Francois Louw, Schalk Burger, Victor Matfield, Danie Rossouw, CJ van der Linde, John Smit (captain), Gurthro Steenkamp.

Reserves: Chiliboy Ralepelle, BJ Botha, Andries Bekker, Ryan Kankowski, Ruan Pienaar, Butch James, Gio Aplon.