Waikato team to play Taranaki

Getty Images and James Mortimer     10 Oct 2013     Getty Images

Despite both teams having no chance of making the playoffs, or being in danger of relegation, they will go head to head for the fifth overall spot in the ITM Cup Premiership with the prestigious Ryan Wheeler Memorial Trophy also on the line.

Waikato has made three personnel changes to their match 22 that secured an important come-from-behind win over Bay of Plenty last weekend.

In the forward pack lock Sam Kilgour returns while the two changes to the backline sees Save Tokula back at centre with Jackson Willison and Sam Christie both moving inside one spot, and Kylem O’Donnell coming onto the wing.

Last week’s first five Wharenui Hawera drops back to the bench which has a five-two forwards and backs split with loose forward Jono Armstrong included.

The match is also a memorable milestone for Waikato’s Toby Smith. The front rower will celebrate his 50th game for the province - his final match in Red, Yellow and Black before he heads across the Tasman to take up a contract with the Melbourne Rebels.

Gates open at 5.05pm on Saturday with a curtain raiser - Waikato Women vs Taranaki Women - kicking off at 5.15pm. The main game kicks off at 7.35pm.

The Waikato team to play Taranaki at Waikato Stadium in Hamilton this Saturday (kick off 7.35pm) is:

1. Toby Smith (49)
2. Brayden Mitchell (9)
3. Ben Tameifuna (6)
4. Whetu Douglas (4)
5. Sam Kilgour (18)
6. Rory Grice (20)
7. Zak Hohneck (31)
8. Adam Burn (9)
9. Brad Weber (6)
10. Sam Christie (41)
11. Semisi Masirewa (10)
12. Jackson Willison [c] (59)
13. Save Tokula (56)
14. Kylem O’Donnell (7)
15. Trent Renata (65)

16. Vance Elliott (21)
17. Paul Alo-Emile (10)
18. Josh Tyrell (2)
19. Zane Kapeli (2)
20. Jono Armstrong (17)
21. Wharenui Hawera (8)
22. Joe Perawiti (8)