Menu allblacks.com

News

Hong Kong gets the world tweeting

Getty Images

irbsevens.com and James Mortimer     26 Mar 2013     Getty Images

Follow the All Blacks Sevens and New Zealand Women's Sevens at @NZ7s

With Fiji coming from 19-0 behind at half time to win 26-19, it was during the Cup final that the official tournament hashtag #HK7s trended fifth worldwide, above some of the big names in Formula 1.

#HK7s was used more than 15,000 times across a weekend which also saw Waisale Serevi become the latest inductee into the IRB Hall of Fame, the Beach Boys perform live, and the South Stand perform their very own Harlem Shake, in the presence of Lord Seb Coe.

Lord Seb Coe (@sebcoe): "Brilliant atmosphere at the Hong Kong Sevens today. What a great Olympic sport it will be at Rio."

Mick Cleary (@mickclearytel) "Filed and away, with good memories of the HK Sevens. Bravo Wales. We feared a one-sided final, we got two one-sided halves. Fiji - masters."

Rhys Jones (@rhys_jones2): "Gutted with the result. Awesome effort from all the boys and such a great experience. Wish we could have won it for my boy @Ifanevans7."

Ifan Evans (@ifanevans7): "Incredible performance from the Wales 7s boys. Privileged to have had them as teammates and honored to have them as friends."

Waisale Serevi (@waisale_serevi): "Truly a blessing. Give God the glory. For all the messages and congratulations, VinakaLevu."

Howard Travis (@howardtravis0): "Great tournament. What shines through, though, is the behavior of the players, their respect for the ref and opponents. Fantastic."

Rupert Cox (@mrrupertcox): "I can't believe Hong Kong stadium just watched a free gig by the Beach Boys. Good vibrations! #HK7s'

Nathan Hirayama (@nhirayama10): "Had a tough go in the Plate but really looking forward to another opportunity next week in Tokyo. The team appreciates all the support. Thanks!"

Tom Powell (@tpowell1985): "Frustration is the only word that comes close but doesn't do this weekend justice…still annoyed. Support in stadium was incredible."

Dan Carter (@DanCarter): "Good luck to the All Black Sevens this weekend Hong Kong #HK7s."