Two changes to Wallabies line-up


<a href="" target="_blank"></a>     07 Sep 2006     Photosport

The 22-year-old Robinson will make his debut for the Wallabies at loosehead prop while Shepherd has earned his debut in the starting XV in the place of suspended winger Lote Tuqiri.

'Prodigal son' Scott Staniforth also makes his return to the Wallabies squad four years after he last played for his country while Waratahs halfback Brett Sheehan has also been included in the 22-man team as a back-up for skipper George Gregan.

Phil Waugh has kept his place at openside flanker ahead of George Smith while centre Stirling Mortlock and lock Nathan Sharpe will each earn their 50th cap when they run out on Ellis Park.

Wallabies coach John Connolly said he has been happy with his team's preparation since arriving in South Africa last Friday and won't be using the high-altitude of the game as an excuse should the Australians lose.

"We had a great preparation in Sydney last week and the team has trained very well since we arrived in South Africa," said Connolly.

"We will have had eight days preparing at altitude before the Test so we won't be using (the altitude) as an excuse for a poor performance on Saturday."

Connolly indicated he was wary a rejuvenated Springboks outfit after they claimed their first Philips Tri Nations victory of the year with a tight one-point win over New Zealand in Rustenberg last weekend.

"The Springboks really tightened up their game against the All Blacks last week and would have gained a considerable confidence boost from the win," he said.

"We know we are in for an extremely tough match and we will need to produce a really strong 80 minutes to beat them."

Australia, who has already beaten the Springboks twice this year to claim the Mandela Plate, has not won a game in South Africa since a 19-18 victory in 2000 at King's Park Durban, while they last tasted victory in Johannesburg way back in 1963.

Benn Robinson, Jeremy Paul, Rodney Blake, Nathan Sharpe, Dan Vickerman (vc), Rocky Elsom, Phil Waugh, Wycliff Palu, George Gregan (c), Stephen Larkham, Cameron Shepherd, Matt Giteau, Stirling Mortlock (vc), Clyde Rathbone, Chris Latham.

Tai McIsaac, Al Baxter, Mark Chisholm, George Smith, Brett Sheehan, Mark Gerrard, Scott Staniforth.