Black Ferns Sevens aim for World Series crown

Getty Images     04 Jun 2019     Getty Images

The team named to travel is;
Shakira Baker Waikato
Michaela Blyde Bay of Plenty
Kelly Brazier Bay of Plenty
Dhys Faleafaga Wellington
Theresa Fitzpatrick Auckland
Sarah Hirini (captain) Manawatu
Tyla Nathan-Wong Auckland
Cheyelle Robins-Reti Waikato
Alena Saili Southland
Terina Te Tamaki Waikato
Ruby Tui Bay of Plenty
Niall Williams Auckland
Tenika Willison Waikato

Assistant Coach Cory Sweeney said the team is focusing on a strong finish to their already successful season.

“We’re five tournaments down with one to go and its really exciting to be in the position we are. We control our destiny at this tournament, we’ve worked really hard to get to this point so we are going to France to win, and if we do that, we will secure the Series title which would be an amazing bonus.”

The Black Ferns Sevens have won four of the five tournaments this season and have secured qualification to the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games.

After a mid-season injury crisis the team is almost back to full strength, with Theresa Fitzpatrick returning for the Biarritz tournament.
“It’s been a tough few months injury wise but the last few weeks we’ve had 18 or 19 players on the field which is amazing and most of them were available for selection.”

Sweeney paid credit to Captain Sarah Hirini who was named in the Queens Birthday Honours becoming a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit for Services to Rugby.

“It’s a massive honour. We know what an amazing person she is so for her to be recognised like that, alongside some pretty amazing people, is really special. 

She is a great leader and person who has played a lot of sevens, the potential to bring up a big milestone in France is exciting for her and the team,” said Sweeney.

Hirini is on track to play her 200th Sevens Series match in France, currently sitting on 195, she will be the first female player to reach this milestone.

Useful links
HSBC Sevens World Series website
Sevens World Series standings
Sevens World Series stats

Black Ferns Sevens 2018-2019 schedule
HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, 20-21 October, Glendale – WINNERS
HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, 29-30 November, Dubai – WINNERS
Fast Four tournament, 26-27 January, Hamilton – WINNERS
HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, 1-3 February, Sydney – WINNERS
HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, 20-21 April, Kitakyushu - FIFTH PLACE
HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, 11-12 May, Langford – WINNERS
HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, 15-16 June, Biarritz