NZ Under 20s named for Oceania opener

Oceania Rugby     26 Apr 2019     Oceania Rugby


The team is:

1. Ollie Norris (Waikato) 
2. Kianu Kereru Symes – captain (Hawke’s Bay) 
3. Kaliopasi Uluilakepa (Manawatu) 
4. Naitoa Ah Kuoi (Wellington) 
5. Tupou Vaa’i (Taranaki) 
6. Samipeni Finau (Waikato) 
7. Jeriah Mua (Bay of Plenty) 
8. Devan Flanders (Hawke’s Bay) 
9. Leroy Carter (Bay of Plenty) 
10. Fergus Burke (Canterbury) 
11. Sam Gilbert (Canterbury) 
12. Dallas McLeod (Canterbury) 
13. Quinn Tupaea (Waikato) 
14. Lalomilo Lalomilo (Bay of Plenty) 
15. Danny Toala (Hawke’s Bay) 

16. Shilo Klein (Canterbury) 
17. George Dyer (Waikato) 
18. Fletcher Newell (Canterbury) 
19. Tamaiti Williams (Canterbury)
20. Taine Plumtree (Wellington) 
21. Cullen Grace (Canterbury) 
22. Kaylum Boshier (Taranaki) 
23. Kohan Herbert (Bay of Plenty) 
24. Simon Parker (Waikato) 
25. Taufa Funaki (Auckland) 
26. Rivez Reihana (Waikato) 
27. Chay Fihaki (Canterbury)
28. Cole Forbes (Bay of Plenty) 

A World Rugby trial sees a 13-man bench, with eight players able to be used as replacements during the match.  

Hawke’s Bay’s Kianu Kereru Symes will captain the team from the front row and is flanked by Ollie Norris and Kaliopasi Uluilakepa who are both returning from the 2018 campaign. 
Devan Flanders, also a member of the 2018 team, gets the start at eight, while Waikato’s Quinn Tupaea will bring his Mitre 10 Cup experience to the midfield.

The team arrived in Australia on Monday and will play three matches in the Under 20 Oceania Championship. 

Coach Craig Philpott said the Oceania tournament is the perfect opportunity to develop combinations and grow as a team. 

“We want to see all players getting an opportunity in these first two matches. The aim is to nail our systems and show plenty of physical intent," said Philpott.

Schedule for Oceania Under 20 Championship: 

Friday 26 April v Fiji, 7.00pm NZT 
Tuesday 30 April v Japan, 5.00pm NZT 
Saturday 4 May v Australia, 9.00pm NZT 

Watch the Oceania Under 20 Championship
Games will be live streamed on the Oceania Rugby facebook page.