Joe Webber to make All Blacks Sevens return in Hong Kong

Getty Images     29 Mar 2019     Getty Images

Webber has recovered from reactive arthritis and joins Scott Curry and Dylan Collier in the 13-man squad who are also returning from injury breaks.

The squad is;
Kurt Baker - Manawatu
Dylan Collier - Waikato
Scott Curry - Bay of Plenty
Sam Dickson - Canterbury
Andrew Knewstubb - Horowhenua Kapiti
Tim Mikkelson - Waikato
Sione Molia - Counties Manukau
Jona Nareki - Otago
Tone Ng Shiu - Tasman
Joe Ravouvou - Auckland
Akuila Rokolisoa - Counties Manukau
Regan Ware - Taranaki
Joe Webber - Bay of Plenty

Coach Clark Laidlaw said the ability to pick from an almost fully fit squad sees a strong team selected for the seventh tournament on the HSBC World Series.

“We have really tested our depth in the forward pack in recent tournaments and all the players have really stepped up. It is good to have Scott and Dylan back going into Hong Kong, their experience will be crucial in such a big event.”

Laidlaw said Webber’s return is exciting for the entire team.

“Joe is one of the best attacking players in the game of sevens. He has worked so hard over the past year and kept such a positive attitude; we are all looking forward to seeing him out on the field again.”

The All Blacks Sevens sit second on the World Series behind the USA and know a strong result in Hong Kong will go a long way to secure an Olympic berth in 2020.

A tough pool assignment sees the All Blacks Sevens come up against Fiji, Australia and Kenya in the first two days of competition.

“It doesn’t get much harder than that. We start on Friday against Australia and that is where our focus is at the moment, we need to be ready to fire straight away.”

Following the Hong Kong tournament the team will travel to Singapore for the Singapore Sevens the following weekend.

HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2018/2019 Schedule

30 November - 1 December, Dubai - WINNERS
8-9 December, Cape Town - FOURTH PLACE
26-27 January, Hamilton - THIRD PLACE
2-3 February, Sydney - WINNERS
1-3 March, Las Vegas - THIRD PLACE
9-10 March, Vancouver - FIFTH PLACE
5-7 April, Hong Kong
13-14 April, Singapore
25-26 May, London
1-2 June, Paris