Under 20 hopefuls preparing for final trial     06 Mar 2019


The players are;  


Iona Apineru - Wellington
Kaylum Boshier - Taranaki
Rob Cobb - Auckland
Sam Cooper - Waikato
Sam Dickson - Otago
George Dyer - Waikato
Tovo Lesinali Faleafa - Auckland
Samipeni Finau - Waikato 
Devan Flanders - Hawke's Bay 
Cullen Grace - Canterbury 
Kohan Herbert - Bay of Plenty 
Josh Hill - Otago 
Shamus Hurley Langton - Wellington
Kianu Kereru Symes - Hawke's Bay 
Shilo Klein - Canterbury
Michael Loft -  Taranaki 
Isileli Manu - Auckland
Fletcher Newell - Canterbury 
Ollie Norris - Waikato
Taine Plumtree - Wellington 
Kershawl Sykes Martin - Tasman 
James Thompson - Waikato 
Kaliopasi Uluilakepa - Wellington 
Tupou Vaa'i - Taranaki 
Tamaiti Williams - Canterbury
Matt Graham Williams - Tasman


Fergus Burke - Canterbury
Leroy Carter - Bay of Plenty 
Luke Donaldson - Canterbury 
Chay Fihaki - Canterbury 
Cole Forbes - Bay of Plenty 
Taufa Funaki - Auckland 
Connor Garden Bachop - Wellington 
Sam Gilbert - Canterbury 
Awatere Kiwara - Manawatu 
Lalomilo Lalomilo - Bay of Plenty 
Lincoln McClutchie - Hawke's Bay 
Dallas McLeod - Canterbury 
Brad McNaughten - North Harbour 
Emoni Narawa - Bay of Plenty 
Isaiah Punivai - Canterbury 
Rivez Reihana - Waikato 
Dennon Robinson Barlett -  Bay of Plenty  
Zarn Sullivan - Auckland 
Danny Toala - Hawke's Bay 
Quinn Tupaea - Waikato 
Reuben Va’a - Wellington 

*An additional eight tight forwards will attend the set piece camp, of which three will be invited to stay on for the trial.  

New Zealand Under 20 Coach Craig Philpott said players have been working on individual programmes since their last assembly in December and they are eager to see progress.  

“We know a number of these players have been playing for their Super Clubs in Under 20 and Development teams so we expect to hit the ground running next week.” 

The trial camp includes position specific coaching in the lead up to two trial matches against the Hurricanes and Chiefs Development teams. 

“This is a strong group of young athletes so as coaches we have a tough job ahead of us in selecting the squad for next month’s Oceania Championship.”

Those players with Super Rugby or Sevens commitments will join the programme depending on their availability.  

The New Zealand Under 20 team will compete at the Oceania Championships before heading to Argentina in June for the U20 World Championships.  

World Rugby announced the draw for the tournament last week, New Zealand tasked with a tough pool assignment coming up against South Africa, Scotland and Georgia with an eye on qualifying for the play offs. 

Players not considered due to injury;

Jeriah Mua (Bay of Plenty), Kaleb Trask (Bay of Plenty), Finlay Brewis (Canterbury), Sam Darry (Canterbury), Jack Heighton (North Harbour), Simon Parker (Waikato), Naitoa Ah Kuoi (Wellington), Callum Harkin (Wellington) 

Players unavailable due to Super Rugby and Sevens commitments;

Caleb Clarke (Blues), Etene Nanai Seturo (Chiefs), Billy Proctor (Hurricanes), Leicester Faingaanuku (Crusaders), Scott Gregory (All Blacks Sevens)