Steve Hansen honoured as New Zealand sporting success celebrated

Getty Images     08 Feb 2018     Getty Images

In presenting the Leadership Award to Steve Hansen at the awards event in Auckland tonight, Sport New Zealand CEO Peter Miskimmin said Hansen was "a world-class coach and he has fashioned a remarkable record to prove it."
"It's not just his success that has set him apart as a great leader and coach but how he has gone about achieving it," Miskimmin said.

"Building on his various coaching roles and life experience, his deep love and understanding of the game, the responsibility that comes with leading this iconic team, he has rethought and reshaped his approach to how he coaches ... he picks on character and culture and expects everyone to put the team first," Miskimmin said.

New Zealand Rugby Chief Executive Steve Tew said: "We're incredibly proud of Steve and the whole team and the amazing success they've achieved over the years. They're currently sitting on a 90 percent winning record and been the number one ranked team in the world for eight consecutive years. Steve is a strong leader not only for the All Blacks but also in the wider rugby world and his award is thoroughly deserved."

Previous rugby winners of the Leadership Award have included former All Blacks captain and NZR Board Chairman, the late Jock Hobbs, World Cup-winning former All Blacks Coach Sir Graham Henry and former All Blacks captain Richie McCaw.
"Congratulations also to Crusaders first five-eighth Mitch Hunt, whose long- range drop goal to defeat the Highlanders in last year's Investec Super Rugby competition was voted by the public as the Favourite Sporting Moment of the Year," Tew added.

"I'd also like to acknowledge our other Halberg Award nominees, the Black Ferns, Portia Woodman, Sarah Goss and their coach Glenn Moore, as well as Beauden Barrett," Tew added. "While they didn't win tonight, we're incredibly proud of their achievements.

"As well, on behalf of New Zealand Rugby, I'd like to congratulate all those who won awards tonight, as well as all the other nominees. They have all achieved great success in their respective sports and we applaud them all.