Pools confirmed for 2018 Commonwealth Games

Getty Images     02 Feb 2018     Getty Images

The men’s competition has been split into four pools with the winner from each pool progressing to the semifinals. The Clark Laidlaw-coached has been drawn in a tricky pool alongside Canada, Kenya and Zambia. 


The 2018 Commonwealth Games will mark the first time women’s sevens has been included in the games. The landmark eight-team women’s event includes hosts and Olympic Games champions Australia and HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series champions the Black Ferns Sevens.

The Black Ferns Sevens have been drawn in Pool A alongside Canada, South Africa and Kenya.

World Rugby Chairman Bill Beaumont said he is anticipating spectacular rugby sevens events at the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games

"The Commonwealth Games has been a driving force behind the rugby sevens success story, always delivering exciting tournaments, packed crowds and a special atmosphere for fans.
“The draw represents a major milestone on our journey towards Gold Coast 2018, a landmark Games for the global rugby family with the inclusion of a women’s event for the first time.

"Excitement is now building and the top men's and women's players from across the Commonwealth are looking forward to these Games and I am sure that the Gold Coast will be the perfect stage for their talent to shine. It will be a spectacular Games," said Beaumont.

Since the inclusion of rugby sevens in the Commonwealth Games in 1998, the All Blacks Sevens have won four gold medals and one silver medal.

Men’s pools

A – South Africa, Scotland, Papua New Guinea, Malaysia
B – England, Australia, Samoa, Jamaica
C – New Zealand, Canada, Kenya, Zambia
D – Fiji, Wales, Uganda, Sri Lanka

Women’s pools

A – New Zealand, Canada, South Africa, Kenya
B – Australia, Fiji, England, Wales