Everything you need to know: Sydney Sevens

Sean Willis     25 Jan 2018     Sean Willis

With the Commonwealth Games and Rugby World Cup Sevens both taking place in 2018, the Sydney Sevens provides the perfect opportunity for sides to gain the early advantage ahead of the two landmark events. 


For the first time in Sydney, the women’s event will be fully combined with the men’s event across the three-day tournament.

The All Blacks Sevens are flying high after taking out the Cape Town Sevens in December but will face no shortage of contenders for the title they last won in 2016.

On the women’s side of the draw, defending World Series champions the Black Ferns Sevens will be desperate to improve on their fifth place finish at the previous tournament in Dubai.

The action kicks off on Friday 26 January with a full round of pool play for the women while the men play one game in the evening. Playoffs kick off for the women on Saturday while the men play their final two pool games. Sunday is finals day for both the men and women.

Friday 26 January
1.06pm NZT v Japan
3.50pm NZT v England
6.12pm NZT v USA

Saturday 27 January / Sunday 28 January – Finals Days

Friday 26 January
9.50pm NZT v Russia Saturday

Saturday 27 January
6.31pm NZT v Samoa
9.42pm NZT v Fiji

Sunday 28 January – Finals Day

All Blacks Sevens coach Clark Laidlaw has sprung a couple of selection surprises with Counties Manukau’s Etene Nanai-Seturo named in the side for the first time and the return of Luke Masirewa to the black jersey for the first time since 2013. Exciting youngster Caleb Clarke has also been named as the 13th man and could make his All Blacks Sevens debut if there are any injuries over the weekend. 

Despite losing Kat Whata-Simpkins (injury) and Kayla McAlister (overseas), Black Ferns Sevens coach Alan Bunting has named an experienced Black Ferns sevens side with Waikato players Shakira Baker and Terina Te Tamaki the unlucky two to miss out on the playing 12.

ALL BLACKS SEVENS: 1. Scott Curry 2. Tim Mikkelson 3. Teddy Stanaway 4. Joe Ravouvou 5. Luke Masirewa 6. Vilimoni Koroi 7. Sam Dickson 8. Andrew Knewstubb 9. Regan Ware 10. Kurt Baker 11. Etene Nanai-Seturo* 12. Sione Molia 13. Caleb Clarke* 

BLACK FERNS SEVENS: 1. Ruby Tui 2. Alena Saili 3. Stacey Waaka 4. Niall Williams 5. Sarah Goss – captain 6. Michaela Blyde 7. Tyla Nathan-Wong 8. Kelly Brazier 9. Gayle Broughton 10. Theresa Fitzpatrick 11. Portia Woodman 12. Tenika Willison

Coverage will be broadcast on SKY Sport Pop Up channel 1 & 2

Head to World Rugby to view the pools, fixtures and results for the Sydney Sevens.