All Blacks and Black Ferns up for World Player of the Year Award

Getty Images     14 Nov 2017     Getty Images

Beauden Barrett will have the chance to become the first player since Richie McCaw to earn back-to-back player of the year awards after picking up the accolade in 2016. He will face a stiff challenge from teammate Rieko Ioane who has emerged as one of the world’s premier outside backs in his first full season with the All Blacks. 


The drawn British & Irish Lions series has had a big influence on the awards with Lions stars Owen Farrell and Maro Itoje also up for the award. The men’s field is rounded out by Wallabies fullback Israel Folau who topped the Investec Rugby Championship try-scoring charts along with Rieko Ioane.

The Black Ferns have been rewarded for their 2017 Women’s Rugby World Cup victory with the nomination of Portia Woodman and Kelly Brazier.

Woodman has long been seen as a star of the sevens game but showed her class in fifteens this year with 13 tries in the 2017 Women’s Rugby World Cup – including eight against Hong Kong in pool play.

Midfielder Brazier was a key cog in the Black Ferns world cup success, playing all Tests in the tournament and balancing scything attack with superb link play to ignite the Black Ferns attack.

The other women's finalists are the French pair of Romane Menager and Safi N'Diaye and England's Lydia Thompson.

Both shortlists were selected by a panel of World Cup winners Richie McCaw, John Smit, George Gregan, Maggie Alphonsi and former England coach Clive Woodward, alongside Brian O'Driscoll, Fabien Galthié and Agustín Pichot.

The winners will be announced at the awards dinner at the Salle des Etoiles in Monte Carlo on November 26.

Vote for the World Rugby Player of the Year HERE.
Previous World Rugby Men’s Player of the Year Award winners:

2016 – Beauden Barrett (New Zealand)
2015 – Dan Carter (New Zealand)
2014 – Brodie Retallick (New Zealand)
2013 – Kieran Read (New Zealand)
2012 – Dan Carter (New Zealand)
2011 – Thierry Dusautoir (France)
2010 – Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
2009 – Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
2008 – Shane Williams (Wales)
2007 – Bryan Habana (South Africa)
2006 – Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
2005 – Dan Carter (New Zealand)
2004 – Schalk Burger (South Africa)
2003 – Jonny Wilkinson (England)
2002 – Fabien Galthié (France)
2001 – Keith Wood (Ireland)
Previous World Rugby Women’s Player of the Year Award winners:

2016 – Sarah Hunter (England)
2015 – Kendra Cocksedge (New Zealand)
2014 – Magali Harvey (Canada)
2012 – Michaela Staniford (England)
2011 – Ruth Mitchell
2010 – Carla Hohepa (New Zealand)
2009 – Debby Hodgkinson (Australia)
2008 – Carol Isherwood (England)
2007 – Sarah Corrigan (Australia)
2006 – Maggie Alphonsi (England)
2005 – Farah Palmer (New Zealand)
2004 – Donna Kennedy (Scotland)
2003 – Kathy Flores (USA)
2002 – Monique Hirovanaa (New Zealand)
2001 – Shelley Rae (England)