Woodman nominated for IRPA Try of the Year

Getty Images     10 Nov 2017     Getty Images

Woodman crossed for a tournament-leading 13 tries at the 2017 Women’s Rugby World Cup but none were better than her stunning solo effort against USA in the semifinal.


Receiving the ball near the halfway line, Woodman showed searing speed to break the line before swerving, stepping and powering her way through a number of USA defenders to score under the posts.

It was a try that showcased Woodman’s dazzling array of skills. While her pace and power were to the fore, Woodman’s timing onto the ball was perfect and the switching of the ball between her hands caused confusion among the five USA defenders she left behind.

While her try was brilliant, she faces tough competition from three other outstanding contenders in Gela Aprasidze (Georgia Under 20), Sean O’Brien (British & Irish Lions) and Joaquin Tuculet (Argentina).

The four tries were selected by the IRPA Try of the Year panel of former players: Stefan Terblanche and Andries Pretorius of South Africa, Hale T-Pole of Tonga and Ireland’s Isaac Boss.

It is the fans who will decide the winner though with a Twitter poll now open until 26 November, when the awards will take place in Monte Carlo.

For more details on the World Rugby Awards, visit

2016 – Jamie Heaslip (Ireland) – Ireland v Italy
2015 – Julian Savea (New Zealand) – New Zealand v France
2014 – Francois Hougaard (South Africa) – South Africa v New Zealand
2013 – Beauden Barrett (New Zealand) – New Zealand v France
2012 – Bryan Habana (South Africa) – South Africa v New Zealand
2011 – Radike Samo (Australia) – Australia v New Zealand
2010 – Chris Ashton (England) – England v Australia
2009 – Jaque Fourie (South Africa) – South Africa v British and Irish Lions
2008 – Brian O’Driscoll (Ireland) – Australia v Ireland
2007 – Takudzwa Ngwenya (USA) – South Africa v USA