PREVIEW: All Blacks v South Africa second Test

Getty Images

Andy Burt     06 Oct 2017     Getty Images

Matches played: 94
All Blacks won: 56
South Africa won: 35
Drawn: 3
Last Match: All Blacks 57, South Africa 0 (September 16, 2017)
Largest All Blacks winning margin: 57-0 (2017)

Match details: All Blacks v South Africa, 4.05am, Sunday 8 October (NZT), DHL Newlands Stadium, Cape Town, South Africa

The All Blacks advance party of five to Cape Town (Sam Whitelock, Liam Squire, Sam Cane, Ryan Crotty and Lima Sopoaga) have all been named in the All Blacks 23. Other changes from last week’s Test against Argentina see Nehe Milner-Skudder come onto the right wing and Tawera Kerr-Barlow on the bench in place of TJ Perenara. The big news out of the South African camp is the absence of 95-Test veteran prop Tendai Mtawarira due to family reasons. He is replaced in the starting line-up by Steven Kitshoff for his first Test start.


The All Blacks will run out onto DHL Newlands Stadium in Cape Town for the first time since 2008. On that day the All Blacks won 19-0 but haven’t returned to South Africa’s second largest city since as Johannesburg became the favoured venue for All Blacks v Springboks clashes. Cape Town is renowned as a hotbed of All Blacks support – as the team discovered on arriving in the city earlier this week.
The All Blacks racked up their highest ever total against South Africa in the last two Test matches played between the sides. Last year they beat the Springboks 57-15 in Durban and equalled that tally again with a 57-0 win in Albany last month. The All Blacks have now won five Tests in a row against South Africa with the last loss coming in Johannesburg in 2014.

Upfront the clash between dynamic rake Dane Coles and the immensely promising Malcolm Marx will be intriguing. Like Coles, 23-year-old Marx is equally as effective with ball in hand as he is in the set piece. In Albany last month, Coles had the edge on his counterpart but Marx will be eager to show his class on home soil. In the backline, pivots Beauden Barrett and Elton Jantjies have been in fine form throughout the Championship and will once again be called upon to spark their team’s attack.


The All Blacks are the only side yet to lose a scrum on their own feed in the Rugby Championship, winning 39 from 39.

TEAMS (caps in brackets)
South Africa: 15. Andries Coetzee 14. Dillyn Leyds 13. Jesse Kriel 12. Jan Serfontein 11. Courtnall Skosan 10. Elton Jantjies 9. Ross Cronje 8. Francois Louw 7. Pieter-Steph du Toit 6. Siya Kolisi 5. Lood de Jager 4. Eben Etzebeth (captain) 3. Ruan Dreyer 2. Malcolm Marx 1. Steven Kitshoff
Reserves: 16. Chiliboy Ralepelle 17. Trevor Nyakane 18. Wilko Louw 19. Franco Mostert 20. Jean-Luc du Preez 21. Rudy Paige 22. Handre Pollard 23. Damian de Allende.

All Blacks: 1. Kane Hames (4) 2. Dane Coles (53) 3. Nepo Laulala (8) 4. Samuel Whitelock (91) 5. Scott Barrett (12) 6. Liam Squire (11) 7. Sam Cane (48) 8. Kieran Read (105) – Captain 9. Aaron Smith (66) 10. Beauden Barrett (58) 11. Rieko Ioane (8) 12. Sonny Bill Williams (41) 13. Ryan Crotty (30) 14. Nehe Milner-Skudder (10) 15. Damian McKenzie (7)
Reserves: 16. Codie Taylor (24) 17. Wyatt Crockett (66) 18. Ofa Tu’ungafasi (9) 19. Patrick Tuipulotu (13) 20. Matt Todd (9) 21. Tawera Kerr-Barlow (26) 22. Lima Sopoaga (11) 23. David Havili (1)