NZ Schools team named for Australia clash

Getty Images     07 Oct 2016     Getty Images

New Zealand Schools have made two changes to the side that surged to a 45-19 win over Fiji at Mount Albert Grammar School on Monday. Upfront, St Peter’s College lock Laghlan McWhannell has replaced the injured Hoskins Sotutu in the second row. In the backline, Leicester Faingaanuku has been promoted from the Barbarians side onto the left wing with Caleb Clarke switching to centre in place of Paul Roache. On the bench, Sam Dickson has been rewarded for a strong performance for the NZ Barbarians Schools against Fiji with inclusion in the number 19 jersey.

NZ Schools coach Jason Holland said he was happy with the win over Fiji but some improvements would have to be made to compete with Australia.

“Some of our decision making and skills let us down for large parts of the game and we have worked hard to improve those areas. Our set piece was very good and will need to be again if we are to get a result against Australia on Saturday.”

The NZ Barbarians side have made a number of changes to the side that overcome Australia 28-17. The changes have been made through both injury and players promoted to the NZ Schools team. In the pack Cameron Suafoa has replaced Sam Dickson while Matene Ruawai has switched from NO.8 to blindside flanker. There has been a reshuffle in the backline with fullback Kaleb Trask replacing first five-eighth Lincoln McClutchie, Connor Garden-Bachop switching from the left wing to the right wing and Danny Toala moving from wing to centre. Into the backline come fullback Jamie Spowart, left wing Niven Longopoa and second five-eighth Rameka Poihipi.

New Zealand Schools and Barbarian Schools fixtures:

Saturday 8 October
NZ Barbarians Schools v Fiji Schools
Venue: Auckland Grammar School
Time: 1.10pm

NZ Schools v Australia Schools
Venue: Auckland Grammar School
Time: 2.50pm

SKY TV Schedule:
Tune into SKY Sport channel 53 from 1pm for live coverage of both games on 8 October.

New Zealand Schools Team

1: Tim Farrell (Napier Boys’ High School)
2: Bradley Slater (New Plymouth Boys’ High School)
3: Robb Cobb (Mt Albert Grammar School)
4: Waimana Reidlinger-Kapa (Mt Albert Grammar School)
5: Laghlan McWhannell (St Peter’s School)
6: Ajay Mua (King’s College) 
7: Sione Havili (Auckland Grammar School)
8: Brayden Iose (C) (Palmerston North Boys’ High School)
9: Carlos Price (St Kentigern College)
10: Harry Plummer (St Peter’s College)
11: Leicester Faingaanuku (Nelson College)
12: Billy Proctor (St Patrick’s College Wellington)
13: Caleb Clarke (Mt Albert Grammar School)
14: Mosese Dawai (Feilding High School)
15: Ngane Punivai (Christ’s College)

16: Flynn Thomas (Southland Boys’ High School)
17: Xavier Numia (St Patrick’s College Wellington)
18: Damon Abraham (Sacred Heart College)
19: Sam Dickson (Otago Boys’ High School)
20: Naera Tipoki (Gisborne Boys’ High School)
21: Tim Hogan (Otago Boys’ High School)
22: Lincoln McClutchie (Hastings Boys’ High School)
23: Scott Gregory (Whangarei Boys’ High School)

New Zealand Barbarians Schools Team:

1: Kianu Kereru-Symes (Hastings Boys High School)
2: Ricky Jackson (Otago Boys High School)
3: Tevita Mafileo (St Kentigern College)
4: Naitoa Ah Kuoi (Wellington College)
5: Cameron Suafoa (St Peters College)
6: Matene Ruawai (Palmerston North Boys High School)
7: Joe Johnston (C) (King’s College)
8: Kaylum Boshier (New Plymouth Boys High School)
9: Folau Fakatava (Hastings Boys High School)
10: Kaleb Trask (Rotorua Boys High School)
11: Niven Longopoa (Mount Albert Grammar School)
12: Rameka Poihipi (Hamilton Boys High School)
13: Danny Toala (Hastings Boys High School)
14: Connor Garden-Bachop (Scots College)
15: Jamie Spowart (Kings College)

16: Perry Karati (Burnside High School)
17: Samuel Matenga (Gisborne Boys High School)
18: Suetena Asomua (Wesley College)
19: Tupou Vaai (Wesley College)
20: Tom Florence (New Plymouth Boys High School)
21: TeRa Whata (Rotorua Boys High School)
22: AJ Lam (St Peter’s College)
23: Hayze Perham (Rotorua Boys High School)