Waikato and Counties Manukau victorious in Taupo

Dave Lintott     21 Sep 2016     Dave Lintott

While Waikato made history at Owen Delany Park, Counties Manukau repeated it by winning the Michael Jones Trophy for the second straight year with a 35-20 win over Bay of Plenty.

Although Auckland scored three tries to Waikato’s one in the Premiership final, it was the boot of first five Matthew Lansdown that proved the difference with six penalties getting Waikato home.

Today’s action brought the curtain down on three days of play at Owen Delany Park which saw almost 400 of New Zealand’s most promising rugby players come together to compete in the annual Jock Hobbs Memorial Under 19 Tournament.

The Graham Mourie Cup bronze final was a nail biter as defending champions Canterbury were consigned to a fourth place finish when Wellington scored a try in overtime to win 31-24. New Zealand Under 20 prop Alex Fidow was strong for Wellington with two tries and many powerful surges with ball in hand.

The DJ Graham player of the tournament was awarded to Waikato loose forward Luke Jacobsen. Jacobsen was tireless around the park for Waikato and topped off the tournament with a crucial try in the final to help Waikato to their inaugural title.

Day three results:

Michael Jones Trophy
11.05am: 13-14th play-off: North Harbour 27 v Northland 0
11.05am: 15th-16th play-off: Southland 5 v Heartland 32
1.05pm: 11th-12th play-off: Hawke’s Bay 20 v Tasman 32
3.20pm: Final: Bay of Plenty 20 v Counties Manukau 35

Graham Mourie Cup
1.05pm: 7th-8th play-off: Auckland B 29 v Taranaki 27
1.40pm: Bronze final: Canterbury 24 v Wellington 31
3.05pm: 5th-6th play-off: Manawatu 13 v Otago 13
5.00pm: Final: Waikato 25 v Auckland A 22

Previous winners

Graham Mourie Cup (Premiership) winners:
2016: Waikato
2015: Canterbury
2014: Wellington

Michael Jones Cup (Championship) winners:
2016: Counties Manukau
2015: Counties Manukau
2014: Southland