Waikato and Auckland set for final showdown

Dave Lintott     18 Sep 2016     Dave Lintott

Despite being firm favourites to take out the Graham Mourie Cup (Premiership), Canterbury were rocked by a 22-point haul to first five Matthew Lansdown to go down 32-21 to Waikato. The loss consigned Canterbury to a bronze final against Wellington while Waikato will take on Auckland A in the Graham Mourie Cup final. 

Auckland A had to fight hard to hold off a determined Wellington side in the final match of the day. Wellington scored three tries to Auckland’s one but paid dearly for their ill-discipline as Auckland A knocked over four penalties to take the nail biting 19-17 win.

In the Michael Jones Cup (Championship), defending champions Counties Manukau ran in three tries to overcome Tasman 22-11. They will meet Bay of Plenty in the final after the Steamers won the ‘battle of the bays’ by dispatching Hawkes Bay 31-8 with first five Reece McDonald kicking 16 points.

Michael Jones Trophy
Semi-final: Bay of Plenty 31 def Hawke’s Bay 8
Semi-final: Counties Manukau 22 def Tasman 11
5th-8th play-off: North Harbour 36 def Southland 24
5th-8th play-off: Northland 18 def Heartland 8

Graham Mourie Cup
5th-8th play-off: Manawatu 52 def Auckland B 10
5th-8th play-off: Otago 62 def Taranaki 23
Semi-final: Waikato 32 def Canterbury 21
Semi-final: Auckland A 19 def Wellington 17

DAY THREE DRAW (Wednesday 21 September)

Michael Jones Trophy
11.05am: 13-14th play-off: North Harbour v Northland
11.05am: 15th-16th play-off: Southland v Heartland
1.05pm: 11th-12th play-off: Hawke’s Bay v Tasman
3.20pm: Final: Bay of Plenty v Counties Manukau

Graham Mourie Cup
1.05pm: 7th-8th play-off: Auckland B v Taranaki
1.40pm: Bronze final: Canterbury v Wellington
3.05pm: 5th-6th play-off: Manawatu v Otago
5.00pm: Final: Waikato v Auckland A

The following matches will be screened LIVE on Wednesday 21 September:

Graham Mourie Cup bronze final: Canterbury v Wellington, 1.40pm, Sky Sport 1
Michael Jones Trophy final: Bay of Plenty v Counties Manukau, 3.20pm, Sky Sport 1
Graham Mourie Cup final: Waikato v Auckland A, 5pm, Sky Sport 1

CLICK HERE for the official tournament programme:

For live scores, photos and news from the tournament, follow the National Under 19s Facebook page.