Defending champions flying high on day one

Dave Lintott     15 Sep 2016     Dave Lintott

In a day of fast paced action at Owen Delany Park in Taupo, Waikato thumped Auckland B 41-0 to move into the semi-finals of the Graham Mourie Cup while Wellington overcame Otago 37-14 and Auckland A dispatched Taranaki 36-11 to round out the Premiership semi-finalists.

In the Michael Jones Trophy division (Championship), Hawke’s Bay ran out winners 41-24 over Southland and Bay of Plenty came from behind to defeat North Harbour 39-31. In the tightest clash of the day, Tasman held out winners 20-17 over the Heartland team to clinch a semi-final spot.

Another feature of the day was Rebecca Mahoney becoming the first female to referee a men’s national domestic competition match in New Zealand when she controlled the Tasman v Heartland encounter.

Premiership: Graham Mourie Cup

Canterbury 57 Manawatu 10
Waikato 41 Auckland B 0
Wellington 37 Otago 14
Auckland A 36 v Taranaki 11

Championship: Michael Jones Trophy

Counties Manukau 45 Northland 17
Hawke’s Bay 41 Southland 24
Bay of Plenty 39 North Harbour 31
Tasman 20 Heartland 17

DAY TWO DRAW (Sunday 18 September)

Michael Jones Trophy
11.05am: Semi-final: Hawkes Bay v Bay of Plenty
11.05am: 5th-8th play-off: Southland v North Harbour
1.05pm: 5th-8th play-off: Northland v Heartland
1.40pm: Semi-final: Counties Manukau v Tasman

Graham Mourie Cup
1.05pm: 5th-8th play-off: Manawatu v Auckland B
3.05pm: 5th-8th play-off: Otago v Taranaki
3.20pm: Semi-final: Canterbury v Waikato
5.00pm: Semi-final: Wellington v Auckland A

Six matches are scheduled to be screened LIVE on Sky Sport across the final two match days. These matches are:

Sunday 18 September:

Michael Jones Trophy semi-final 2: Counties Manukau v Tasman, 1.40pm, Sky Sport 2
Graham Mourie Cup semi-final 1: Canterbury v Waikato, 3.20pm, Sky Sport 2
Graham Mourie Cup semi-final 2: Wellington v Auckland A, 5.00pm, Sky Sport 2

Wednesday 21 September:
Graham Mourie Cup bronze final: TBC v TBC, 1.40pm, Sky Sport 1
Michael Jones Trophy final: TBC v TBC, 3.20pm, Sky Sport 1
Graham Mourie Cup final: TBC v TBC, 5pm, Sky Sport 1

CLICK HERE for the official tournament programme:

For live scores, photos and news from the tournament, follow the National Under 19s Facebook page.