PREVIEW: Jock Hobbs Memorial National Under 19 Tournament

NZR     14 Sep 2016     NZR

Since launching in 2014, the tournament has quickly become an integral fixture on the New Zealand rugby calendar and breeding ground for future stars.

In 2016, sixteen teams will compete across two divisions (premiership and championship) for the Graham Mourie Cup and Michael Jones Trophy. In the premiership, Canterbury will be looking to make it back-to-back titles after taking out Waikato 41-35 in the final last year. The championship was just as tight with Counties Manukau pulling out a last gasp 32-28 win over Tasman to claim the Michael Jones Trophy.

Graham Mourie Cup (Premiership): Auckland A, Auckland B, Waikato, Taranaki, Wellington, Manwatu, Canterbury, Otago

Michael Jones Trophy (Championship):
North Harbour, Northland, Counties Manukau, Bay of Plenty, Hawke’s Bay, Heartland, Tasman, Southland


The tournament is played across three match days (Thursday 15, Sunday 18 and Wednesday 21 September) with eight matches on each match day. With eight teams in either division, the winner of the first round matches move into the semi-finals of the Graham Mourie Cup and Michael Jones Trophy respectively. The losing sides move into play-offs for 5-8th place in either division. The format makes the first round of the tournament crucial with a semi-final spot awaiting the winner of each clash on day one. 

First round draw (Thursday 15 September)

Premiership: Graham Mourie Cup

Manawatu v Canterbury, 11.05am
Auckland B v Waikato, 1.05pm
Wellington v Otago, 3.05pm
Auckland A v Taranaki, 5.00pm

Championship: Michael Jones Trophy

Northland v Counties Manukau, 11.05am
Hawke’s Bay v Southland, 1.05pm
North Harbour v Bay of Plenty, 1.40pm
Heartland v Tasman, 3.20pm

Nine matches are scheduled to be screened LIVE on Sky Sport. These matches are:

Thursday 15 September:
North Harbour v Bay of Plenty, 1.40pm, Sky Sport 1
Heartland v Tasman, 3.20pm, Sky Sport 1
Auckland A v Taranaki, 5.00pm, Sky Sport 1

Sunday 18 September:
Michael Jones Trophy semi-final 2: TBC v TBC, 1.40pm, Sky Sport 2
Graham Mourie Cup semi-final 1: TBC vTBC, 3.20pm, Sky Sport 2
Graham Mourie Cup semi-final 2: TBC vTBC, 5.00pm, Sky Sport 2

Wednesday 21 September:

Graham Mourie Cup bronze final: TBC v TBC, 1.40pm, Sky Sport 1
Michael Jones Trophy final: TBC v TBC, 3.20pm, Sky Sport 1
Graham Mourie Cup final: TBC v TBC, 5pm, Sky Sport 1

CLICK HERE for the official tournament programme:

For live scores, photos and news from the tournament, follow the National Under 19s Facebook page.