Welsh Women name team to face Black Ferns

Getty Images     14 Aug 2014     Getty Images

Philippa Tuttiett returns to the wing in place of Dyddgu Hywel who moves down to the bench while prop Jenny Davies, who impressed as a second half replacement against South Africa in Saturdays's 35-3 victory, gets the nod at loosehead prop. Megan York switches to the tighthead with Catrin Edwards moving down to the bench.

Elen Evans and Caryl Thomas are named on the replacements bench with Cerys Hale, Elli Norkett and Rafiuke Taylor dropping out of the match-day 22 altogether.

Rumours of New Zealand's decline may be exaggerated - even if they have failed to reach the semi-finals for the first time in the history of the Women's Rugby World Cup, according to Wales Women's head coach Rhys Edwards.

In the Pool phase of the competition New Zealand scored more points (127) than any other team while the defending champions are the only team to have more than one player who has scored three tries in the tournament so far.

"One loss doesn't make you a bad team, and they lost that game by three points. They are certainly going to be one the strongest contenders for the 5th to 8th play-off position and something we have to be wary of," said Edwards.

"They've scored most points and tries so far so they are going to be an attacking force. We have got to go out and implement out game plan quickly as possible and stop them playing.

"The changes we have made are purely on the back of looking at the All Blacks and how they play and our strategy and the two changes we've made are going to implement that and give us a bit more strength in the combinations we have on the pitch."

Women's Rugby World Cup:
Wales Women v New Zealand Women, Wed 13 Aug, 2.45pm (UK), Stade Jean Bouin

15 Laurie Harries (Llandaff North)
14 Adi Taviner (Neath Athletic)
13 Robyn Wilkins (Llandaff North)
12 Rebecca de Filippo (Bristol Ladies)
11 Philippa Tuttiett (Bristol Ladies)
10 Elinor Snowsill (Bristol Ladies)
9 Sian Moore (Bristol Ladies);
8 Sioned Harries (Llandaff North)
7 Rachel Taylor (Bristol Ladies - Capt)
6 Catrina Nicholas (Llandaff North)
5 Shona Powell-Hughes (Neath Athletic)
4 Jenny Hawkins (Llandaff North)
3 Meg York (Blaenau Gwent)
2 Carys Phillips (Bristol Ladies)
1 Jenny Davies (Waterloo)

16 Lowri Harries (Neath Athletic)
17 Catrin Edwards (Bristol Ladies)
18 Caryl Thomas (Bath Ladies)
19 Sian Williams (Worcester)
20 Amy Day (Llandaff North)
21 Elen Evans (Waterloo)
22 Dyddgu Hywel (Bristol Ladies)