Brumbies name team to face the Chiefs

Getty Images     18 Jul 2014     Getty Images

Coleman’s elevation to the starting side shifts Clyde Rathbone out of the match-day 23, with rookie prop Allan Alaalatoa’s inclusion on the bench the only other change to last week’s match-day 23.

With seven tries to his name in 2014, Coleman leads the Brumbies try-scoring tally alongside his fellow-back-three member, Jesse Mogg. It’s been a big season for the UC Brumbies outside backs, with Henry Speight, Joe Tomane, Pat McCabe, Mogg and Coleman combining for a total 22 five-pointers.

Coleman was instrumental in guiding the UC Brumbies to victory over the Chiefs in their first encounter of 2014, making more tackles than any of his backline colleagues other than centre pairing of Tevita Kuridrani and Christian Lealiifano.

“It was tough watching the boys play so well last week and not being a part of it,” Coleman said.

“I thought they were outstanding in pretty much everything they did. I’ll be looking to build on that momentum this week. I want to be able to add to that performance.

“The last few weeks I’ve had some issues with my quad and as a result my speed probably hasn’t been where it needs to be. That’s all resolved now though and I’m looking forward to taking on the Chiefs.”

Alaalatoa’s debut inclusion comes at the expense of JP Smith. Alaalatoa was a star member of the Australian Under 20’s at the most recent Junior World Cup in New Zealand and follows the debut of his brother Michael who made his first appearance for the Waratahs last weekend.

Super Rugby Qualifier
UC Brumbies v Chiefs
GIO Stadium
Kick-off: 7.40pm (local)
Referee: Craig Joubert

UC Brumbies
1. Scott Sio
2. Josh Mann-Rea
3. Ben Alexander
4. Sam Carter
5. Leon Power
6. Scott Fardy
7. Jarrad Butler
8. Ben Mowen (c)
9. Nic White
10. Matt Toomua
11. Robbie Coleman
12. Christian Lealiifano
13. Tevita Kuridrani
14. Henry Speight
15. Jesse Mogg

16. Ruaidhri Murphy
17. Ruan Smith
18. Allan Alaalatoa
19. Fotu Auelua
20. Tom McVerry
21. Michael Dowsett
22. Joe Tomane
23. Pat McCabe