Chiefs Under 18s teams to play Blues counterparts

Getty Images     15 Jul 2014     Getty Images

The Chiefs region Schools Under 18 Development Camp was held for five days last week at St Peters School in Cambridge.

Sixty players attended the Camp as selected from Schools of Counties Manukau, Waikato, Thames Valley, Bay of Plenty, King Country and Taranaki in having joined the Chiefs region. The selection of the players included viewing of players performances in the Chiefs Cup and Trophy competition matches in May. The players were selected into two squads for the duration of the Camp, being Team Messam and Team Latimer in recognition of the Chiefs two players to play 100 matches for the Chiefs. Messam and Latimer spoke to the players on sharing their experiences and learnings as Chiefs players when the boys visited the Chiefs Ruakura training base.

The Camp had the key focus on ‘What it takes to become a Chiefs player’ with a full intensive programme of learning and development on and off the field each day and evening from Sunday to Thursday. Parents and family members of the players attended education sessions on the Sunday including personal/professional development, mental skills, strength and conditioning and nutrition. The rugby development included specialist position coaching and mentoring through the Camp and the four Chiefs coaches Dave Rennie, Tom Coventry, Andrew Strawbridge and Wayne Smith provided skills coaching to the boys for three hours on the Tuesday morning which was a great experience for the boys in the midst of the Chiefs week preparation for the match against the Blues to qualify for the Super Rugby finals.

The camp involved coaches and personnel from each of the Counties Manukau, Waikato, Thames Valley, Bay of Plenty, King Country and Taranaki Provincial Unions with the Unions role to support and lead the players development alongside the schools and when they leave school.

The camp is run in conjunction with the New Zealand Rugby Union and the national player development framework, and also forms part of the selection process for the New Zealand Secondary Schools team to play Fiji and Australia in October.

Chiefs Player Identification and Development Manager Dave Dillon said "These camps are an important part of the development of Chiefs players in our region and provide an ideal opportunity for us to enhance and nuture our young talent coming through and introduce them to the Chiefs culture."

Following on from the Camp, the two teams Messam and Latimer are today playing two Blues U18 teams from its Development Camp with the matches being played at the College Rifles ground on Haast St, Remuera in Auckland, kicking off at 1.00pm and 2.30pm. The Messam and Latimer teams to play the Blues today are listed below with all fit and available players from the Camp involved.

Team Messam:

Prop 1 Shayne Hill (New Plymouth)
Hooker 2 Solomone Tukuafu (Hamilton)
Prop 3 Ryan Coxon (St Peters)
Lock 4 Aaron Preest (Hamilton)
Lock 5 Sam Caird (St Peter's)
Blindside 6 Luke Jacobson (Cambridge)
Openside 7 Nathan Tweedy (St Peters)
No 8 8 Viliami Tose (Rotorua)
Halfback 9 Jonathan Taumateine (Wesley)
1st Five 10 Matthew Lansdown (Hamilton)
Left Wing 11 Connor Fifita (Tauranga)
2nd Five 12 Kaine Lewis (Rotorua)
Centre 13 Chris Cunningham (Alfriston)
Right Wing 14 Hawai'i Paeniu (Wesley)
Fullback 15 Ngarohi McGarvey Black (Rotorua)
Forward 16 Kuli Kaituu (Cambridge)
Forward 17 Josh Twidle (Wesley)
Forward 18 Ben Webby (Tauranga)
Forward 19 Corbin Porteous (Francis Douglas)
Forward 20 Jone Lasaganibau (Rotorua)
Back 21 Nerehana Tarei (Rotorua)
Back 22 Jayde Hema - Allan (Taupo)
Back 23 Kippa Fawcett (St Pauls) /
Steven Snoxell (Francis Douglas)

Team Messam

Jahrome Brown (Hamilton)
Sanalio Tauanuta (St Johns)
Kalani Beattie (Hamilton)
Elijah Ale (Hamilton)
Eli Kneepkens (Francis Douglas)
Grayson Kite (Tauranga)
Daniel Waite (New Plymouth)
Christian Kelly (Tauranga)

Team Latimer

Prop 1 Jarred Adams (Wesley)
Hooker 2 Samisoni Taukei'aho (St Pauls)
Prop 3 Jessie Williams (Rotorua)
Lock 4 Shneil Singh (St Pauls)
Lock 5 Jermayne Maika (Hamilton)
Blindside 6 Viliami Taulani (Manurewa)
Openside 7 Te Puia Luteru (Wesley)
No 8 8 Caleb Aperahama (Tauranga)
Halfback 9 Sam Takai (Tauranga)
1st Five 10 Orbyn Leger (Hamilton)
Left Wing 11 Legin Hotham (Hamilton)
2nd Five 12 Jordan Pineaha (NBHS)
Centre 13 Isaac Te Aute (Rotorua)
Right Wing 14 Latu Vaeno (Rotorua)
Fullback 15 Zak Gibson (Te Awamutu)
Forward 16 Kemble Frost (Tauranga)
Forward 17 Jessie Mason-Grant (Rotorua)
Forward 18 Alex Kalin (Francis Douglas)
Forward 19 Tom Gordon (St Pauls)
Back 20 Mua Tu'umaialu (Manurewa)
Back 21 Wetere Pompey (Wesley)
Back 22 Kippa Fawcett (St Pauls)
Back 23 Steven Snoxell (Francis Douglas)

Team Latimer

Ayden Johnstone (Hamilton)
Callum Burrell (Tauranga)
James Parton (Hamilton)
DuPlessis Kirifi (Francis Douglas)
Viliami Tuipolotu (Hamilton)
Ma'ake Taulahi (Rotorua)
Jordie Barrett (Francis Douglas)
Sevuloni Reece (Hamilton)