Gold Coast Sevens to open 2014/2015 Sevens World Series

IRB     05 Jun 2014     IRB

The event will take place on 11-12 October at the Cbus Super Stadium (formerly Skilled Stadium), kicking off a season of Rugby Sevens, from which four nations will qualify directly for the 2016 Olympic Games.

In October 2013 The Australians reached the final of their home event, going down to New Zealand.

"We’re delighted to bring Australia’s premier international Sevens tournament back to the Gold Coast for the fourth year in succession in October," said Andrew Fagan, General Manager for National Teams and Rugby Operations at the ARU. "It’s a place where the team generally does really well with the backing of the crowd and somewhere they feel at home."

For more information on the Gold Coast Sevens and how to purchase tickets, go to

HSBC Sevens World Series 2014/15

Round 1 Australia (Gold Coast) 11-12 Oct 2014
Round 2 Dubai 5-6 Dec 2014
Round 3 South Africa (Port Elizabeth) 13-14 Dec 2014
Round 4 New Zealand (Wellington) 6-7 Feb 2015
Round 5 USA (Las Vegas) 13-15 Feb 2015
Round 6 Hong Kong 27-29 Mar 2015
Round 7 Japan (Tokyo) 4-5 Apr 2015
Round 8 Scotland (Glasgow) 9-10 May 2015
Round 9 England (London) 16-17 May 2015