Junior Springboks team to face New Zealand Under 20s

SARU     06 Jun 2014     SARU

The brothers were confirmed as centre combination when Junior Boks coach, Dawie Theron, named his starting line-up team to face the young New Zealanders in this vital Pool C match at Junior World Championship.

Injury to four players has forced Theron to reshuffle his match 23 after the Junior Boks scored a convincing 61-3 win over Scotland on Monday.

Midfielders Rohan Janse van Rensburg (ankle), Andre Esterhuizen (head blow) and flank Jacques Vermeulen (ankle) were all ruled out of selection because of injuries sustained against the Scots. On Thursday, Golden Lions hooker Malcolm Marx was also ruled out of action for several weeks after he had suffered a knee injury during Wednesday’s evening training session.

Dan Kriel will now wear the number 12 jersey as stand-in for the powerfully built Esterhuizen. In the only other change amongst the backs, Vodacom Blue Bulls scrumhalf JP Smith comes in off the bench for Zee Mkhabela who is now one of the replacements. Replacement wing Duhan van der Merwe, who joined the squad yesterday from South Africa, is amongst the reserves.

Furthermore, Theron opted for a complete revised front which now consists of Thomas du Toit, Corniel Els, Dayan van der Westhuizen (props) and Corniel Els (hooker).

Towering lock JD Schickerling got the nod over Abongile Nonkontwana while Jean-Luc du Preez comes in at number 6 flank for Vermeulen.

Flyhalf Handré Pollard, who had a sublime match against Scotland, will again lead the Junior Springboks in what is undoubtedly the pick of match day two.

According to Theron, his team knows the huge significance of this vital pool match against New Zealand.

“It is a real pity to have lost four players because of injuries. We had two very good training sessions on Wednesday and the boys know we are in for an extremely tough encounter against New Zealand,” said Theron.

Commenting on the possible impact of the changes, Theron said: “The players have been training together for a while now and know our system. This is a very talented group of players who have worked extremely hard to be here,” according to Theron.

The South Africans will complete their Pool C fixtures on 10 June against Samoa.

The Junior Springbok team to play New Zealand Under-20 on Friday:

15. Warrick Gelant (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
14. Lloyd Greeff (Leopards)
13. Jesse Kriel (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
12. Dan Kriel (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
11. Sergeal Petersen (EP Kings)
10. Handré Pollard (captain, Vodacom Bulls)
9. JP Smith (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
8. Aidon Davis (EP Kings)
7. Cyle Brink (Golden Lions)
6. Jean-Luc du Preez (Cell C Sharks)
5. Nico Janse van Rensburg (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
4. JD Schickerling (DHL Western Province)
3. Dayan van der Westhuizen (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
2. Corniel Els (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
1. Thomas du Toit (Cell C Sharks)

16. Joseph Dweba (Toyota Free State Cheetahs)
17. Pierre Schoeman (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
18. Wilco Louw (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
19. Abongile Nonkontwana (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
20 Victor Sekekete (Golden Lions)
21 Zee Mkhabela (Toyota Free State Cheetahs)
22 Jean-Luc du Plessis (Cell C Sharks)
23 Duhan van der Merwe (SA Sevens contracted)