Australian Women Sevens name team for Amsterdam

Getty Images     09 May 2014     Getty Images

The Australians go into the Series finale on 16-17 May trailing defending champions New Zealand by two points with both sides having won two rounds and welcome back Green and Nikki Etheridge, the latter selected for the first time since RWC Sevens 2013 after recovering from injury.

Tiana Penitani, Evania Pelite and Saofaiga Saemo are still sidelined by injury but Australia do have the leading try scorer in the 2013/14 Series in Emilee Cherry and their inspirational captain Sharni Williams who will lead their title challenge.

“We’ve put ourselves in a good position to win the World Series,” admitted Walsh. “In my opinion, we’ve picked a squad that is very well-balanced.

“Ellia comes back into squad after missing out on China. She’s worked extremely hard over the last couple of months and gives us that X-factor. Ellia is a real match winner. Nikki has fantastic athleticism as well as good speed and size. I’m looking forward to seeing her in action.

“Nikki is only the 16th player we have called up to the squad throughout this season’s World Series and this consistency of selection has allowed team combinations to flourish.”

Australia will face Russia, France and South Africa in Pool B at the NRCA Stadium.

Australia Women’s Sevens squad

Sharni Williams (captain), Shannon Parry, Nicole Beck, Emilee Cherry, Gemma Etheridge, Nikki Etheridge, Amy Turner, Cobie Jane Morgan, Alicia Quirk, Emma Tonegato, Charlotte Caslick, Ellia Green.