Four changes for USA Women's Sevens team

getty     07 May 2014     getty

Megan Bonny, Hannah Lockwood, Hannah Lopez and Kathryn Johnson all come in for the Dutch finale and will replace Dana Meschisi, Deven Owsiany, Rebekah Siebach and Shaina Turley.

For Lopez and Lockwood it will be their first appearances on the Women’s Sevens World Series.

“I am happy for Hannah, KJ and Megan,” Suggitt said. “They have trained well all year at the residency programme and they will now get an opportunity to showcase their abilities. All three are exciting and can run.

“Hannah has worked extremely hard the past year to earn this spot. She will be joining us from New Zealand and we look forward to her arrival in Amsterdam.”

Alev Kelter and the recently married Elana Meyers Taylor, the newest additions at the Olympic Training Center in Chula Vista, both keep their places with the Eagles hoping to improve on the 11th place finish in China last month.

“Alev and Elana have now had a sample of what Sevens rugby is like on the international stage,” Suggitt said. “We are still searching for them to find their footing and the flow of the game. I believe we will see more production out of them now that they know what to expect.”

The Women’s Sevens Eagles will face world champions and Series leaders New Zealand, Spain and Ireland in Pool A at the NRCA Stadium. USA currently sit seventh in the standings with 26 points, their best result being a Plate win on home soil in the Atlanta round.

“We know we will perform better this time around,” Suggitt said. “We have to.”

USA Women’s Sevens squad: Kelly Griffin, Lorrie Clifford, Jillion Potter, Amelia Villines (captain), Hannah Lopez, Lauren Doyle, Victoria Folayan, Alev Kelter, Elana Meyers Taylor, Hannah Lockwood, Kathryn Johnson, Megan Bonny.