Latimer to bring up 100 matches for the Chiefs

Getty Images     18 Apr 2014     Getty Images

There have been six changes made to the starting side. Pauliasi Manu starts at prop with Brodie Retallick cleared to play. Retallick was initially in doubt this week with suspected concussion but has passed all of the required tests. Liam Messam returns and will be joined by Tanerau Latimer and Liam Squire in the No 8 jersey. Tawera Kerr-Barlow starts at halfback and winger Asaeli Tikoirotuma will take the field after two weeks out with a knee injury.

Four changes have been made to the bench with Jamie Mackintosh, Sam Cane, Matt Symons and Augustine Pulu all added to the reserves.

The Easter match will be a very special occasion when iconic Chiefs player Tanerau Latimer will take the field in his 100th Chiefs match. Tanerau Latimer will become only the second person in the Chiefs 18 year history to become a centurion and will join his captain Liam Messam in the elite club.

Latimer is also one of a very small group of players who has represented New Zealand in three black jerseys when he played for the All Blacks, the Maori All Blacks and the All Black Sevens, winning a commonwealth gold medal with them.

Chiefs’ coach Dave Rennie said “The Crusaders are a bloody good side with good players that we respect. It is a big occasion being Lats’ 100th match for the Chiefs and the boys rate him highly so they are keen to front for him.”

The match sponsored by the Lawrenson Group will feature some special Easter entertainment including the opportunity to watch some supporters being hypnotized. The fans who are hypnotized will be regularly checked upon during the match, which is expected to be highly entertaining.

Any fan that has purchased a ticket to the match on Saturday is eligible to be selected for the hypnotizing activity. Details of how to put your name in for the draw to be hypnotized will be posted on

There will be an Easter Egg Challenge with two teams made up of season members competing against each other in a series of challenges around the Stadium. The participants were randomly selected from an exclusive season membership offer and will provide some amusing viewing for those attending the live match.

The live entertainment will continue for the Easter weekend celebrations with performances from the Chiefs Maori Toa Group and The Bank Cheerleaders. For family enjoyment there will be the alcohol free Family Zone with a bouncy castle and free goodie packs for all children with tickets to the Family Zone. Gates open at 6pm.

Last week someone came very close to winning a Generation Home when Gareth Anscombe scored a try in the 14th minute but he was in the number 10 jersey. Another Generation Homes worth $350,000 will be up for grabs for Chiefs fans who attend the match in the ‘Score a Home’ promotion. If the Chiefs player wearing the number 14 jersey scores a try in the 14th minute of the game some lucky Chiefs fan who has entered the competition will win a Generation Homes house.

To be part of the ‘Score a Home’ competition all Chiefs supporters have to do is go online at to register and the winner must be at the stadium for the game to win and be contactable. A full list of terms and conditions are available on the Generation Homes website. The competition applies for 2014 round robin home games held at Waikato Stadium and Yarrow Stadium in New Plymouth.

Match day adult tickets start at $19; children 14 and under start at $9 and kids 4 years and under are FREE on the knee.

All ticketing is available online at or by phoning 0800 4 CHIEFS or in person at Gate 1 Waikato Stadium, game week Monday to Thursday 8am-6pm (Closed Good Friday) and Saturday game day from 9am. For more match day, ticketing and stadium information visit

The Chiefs, Hamilton City Council and Waikato Regional Council run a free shuttle bus service on game night. Buses start from 6:30pm from Hood St to the Stadium and back to Hood St after the match and leave approximately every 15 minutes. Buses will travel via Victoria, Ulster and Abbotsford streets to the ground.

Pauliasi Manu
Rhys Marshall
Ben Tameifuna
Michael Fitzgerald
Brodie Retallick
Liam Messam ©
Tanerau Latimer 100th Chiefs Match
Liam Squire
Tawera Kerr-Barlow
Gareth Anscombe
Asaeli Tikoirotuma
Bundee Aki
Andrew Horrell
Tim Nanai-Williams
Tom Marshall

Nathan Harris
Jamie Mackintosh
Josh Hohneck
Matt Symons
Sam Cane
Augustine Pulu
Anton Lienert-Brown
Jordan Payne