Highlanders named for Bulls

Getty Images     10 Apr 2014     Getty Images

After a close win against the Rebels in the previous round the Highlanders have made few changes to the starting line up in an effort to secure this round 9 win at home.

In the forwards Kane Hames returns from a one week suspension and moves back into the loosehead position. Brad Thorn moves into 4 while Jarrad Hoeata goes to the bench. Elliot Dixon will start in the Number 8 jersey with Co-Captain Nasi Manu in the reserves, also joining the reserves this week is John Hardie.

Patrick Osborne comes back on to the wing with Kurt Baker sidelined for six weeks after being stood down for committing a tip tackle during the Rebels game.

The remainder of the backline stays unchanged for this last home game before the team heads to South Africa to play the Sharks and the Stormers.

Highlanders v Bulls, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin – Friday 11th April, 7.35pm (NZT)

1. Kane Hames
2. Liam Coltman
3. Chris King
4. Brad Thorn
5. Joe Wheeler
6. Gareth Evans
7. Shane Christie
8. Elliot Dixon
9. Aaron Smith
10. Lima Sopoaga
11. Patrick Osborne
12. Shaun Treeby
13. Malakai Fekitoa
14. Richard Buckman
15. Ben Smith (co-captain)


16. Ged Robinson
17. Craig Millar
18. Ma’afu Fia
19. Jarrad Hoeata
20. John Hardie
21. Fumiaki Tanaka
22. Trent Renata
23. Nasi Manu (co-captain)