2013 Steinlager Rugby Awards nominations confirmed     15 Nov 2013    

The 2013 Steinlager Rugby Awards will be held at the Sky City Auckland Convention Centre on Thursday 5 December.

The Chiefs’ second Investec Super Rugby title on the trot sees the team, Head Coach Dave Rennie and co-captain Liam Messam well represented in the nominations.

Canterbury, easily the most successful provincial side of the century, is in line for Team of the Year while the sharp form all season of half back Andy Ellis gains him a nod for ITM Cup Player of the Year.

The All Blacks clean sweep of the Steinlager Series followed up by victory again in the Investec Rugby Championship sees nominations for Head Coach Steve Hansen, and the team, while star wing turned centre Ben Smith and dynamic loose forwards Kieran Read and the Liam Messam are in line for this year’s Kelvin R Tremain Player of the Year Award.

In a repeat of last year’s nomination line-up for Coach of the Year, All Blacks Sevens coach Gordon Tietjens will again compete with Hansen and Rennie for the accolade after masterminding another Sevens World Series win and the team’s World Cup triumph in Moscow. The All Blacks Sevens are also up for Team of the Year.

For the first time in the Awards' history, fans will get a say in deciding some of the best rugby action from 2013. An online poll is now open for fans to select the SKY Fans Try of the Year. Voting closes 25 November with the winning try announced on the awards night.

For more information click here

The Steinlager Salver Award recognising a person’s exceptional contribution to New Zealand rugby will also be announced on the night.

2013 Steinlager Rugby Awards nominations

New Zealand Rugby Age Grade Player of the Year

Akira Ioane (Auckland Grammar)
Damian McKenzie (Christ’s College)
Ardie Savea (Wellington)

Charles Monro Rugby Volunteer of the Year

Wayne Dowd (Auckland)
Rob Jones (Manawatu)
Mario Martinengo (North Harbour)

New Zealand Rugby Referee of the Year

Nicky Inwood
Glen Jackson
Chris Pollock

Pink Batts Heartland Championship Player of the Year

Dwayne Burrows
Jon Dampney
Andrew Scarlett

New Zealand Rugby Women’s Sevens Player of the Year

Kelly Brazier
Kayla McAlister
Portia Woodman

Richard Crawshaw Memorial Sevens Player of the Year

Kurt Baker
Gillies Kaka
Tim Mikkelson

ITM Cup Player of the Year

Marty Banks
Andy Ellis
Victor Vito

Investec Super Rugby Player of the Year

Liam Messam
Ben Smith
Sam Whitelock

Tom French Memorial Maori Player of the Year

Tanerau Latimer
Liam Messam
Aaron Smith

New Zealand Rugby Women’s Player of the Year

Kelly Brazier
Casey Robertson
Selica Winiata

New Zealand Rugby Coach of the Year

Steven Hansen
Dave Rennie
Gordon Tietjens

adidas Team of the Year

All Blacks
All Blacks Sevens

Kelvin R Tremain Player of the Year

Liam Messam
Kieran Read
Ben Smith