adidas All Blacks AIG Logo


McCaw and Jane replaced by Cane and Piutau in All Blacks team

Getty Images

James Mortimer     19 Oct 2013     Getty Images

Sam Cane and Charles Piutau will replace the two in the starting lineup, while Steven Luatua comes into the reserves.

McCaw, who was to play his 121st Test, has been ruled out with a calf strain, but it is believed that the injury is not related to his recently recovered knee ligament complaint, which saw him return to play the Springboks at Ellis Park.

It robs the World Cup winning captain of his chance to play his 32nd Test against Australia, which would have been a record for a single player against one nation.

Jane, who was to play his 44th Test and first of 2013, is out with a hamstring strain.

In McCaw's absence number eight Kieran Read will captain the side.

Amended All Blacks team (Test caps in brackets):

1. Tony Woodcock (104)
2. Keven Mealamu (108)
3. Charlie Faumuina (13)
4. Jeremy Thrush (3)
5. Samuel Whitelock (47)
6. Liam Messam (26)
7. Sam Cane (12)
8. Kieran Read (57) - captain
9. Aaron Smith (21)
10. Aaron Cruden (25)
11. Julian Savea (17)
12. Ma'a Nonu (84)
13. Ben Smith (21)
14. Charles Piutau (6)
15. Israel Dagg (33)


16. Dane Coles (10)
17. Wyatt Crockett (19)
18. Ben Franks (28)
19. Brodie Retallick (20)
20. Steven Luatua (5)
21. Tawera Kerr-Barlow (10)
22. Beauden Barrett (13)
23. Tom Taylor (1)