NZSchools team to play Australia A named


This afternoon's match comes on the back of a narrow 22-20 loss to Fiji at Sydney's St Mary's Rugby League Stadium last Friday.

The New Zealand Schools team to play Australia A is:
1 Atu Moli
2 Leni Apisai
3 Reuben O’Neill
4 Jamie Lane
5 Sam Chongkit
6 Mitchell Jacobson, captain
7 Blake Gibson
8 Dillon Wihongi
9 Harrison Levien
10 Damian McKenzie
11 Isaac Te Tamaki
12 Jonathan Fa’auli
13 Wes Goosen
14 Nathaniel Apa
15 Sam McNicol

16 Liam Smart
17 Tom Hill
18 Mike Tamoaieta
19 Akira Ioane
20 Mitchell Karpik
21 Harry Peeters
22 Bryn Gatland
23 TJ Faiane

Keen to give everyone a chance to stretch their legs, Hilton-Jones has named a vastly different side to the one that opened their three-match 2013 programme against Fiji.

"Fiji was a very physical and close encounter. The Fijian community came out in force to cheer on their schools team.

"We made things difficult for ourselves by not executing at key times during the game and Fiji were quick to capitalise on our errors.

"Having said that we learned some valuable lessons and the boys are fired up and have done a good job to shift focus to the next match."

Kick off for today's match at Knox Grammar School is 3:30pm NZT.

Watch for restuls on and follow on All Blacks twitter.

New Zealand Schools Programme - Sydney (Local KO times)
Friday 27 September
NZ Schools 20 v Fiji 22, St Mary’s Rugby League Stadium, 7:00pm
Tuesday 1 October, v Australia A, Knox Grammar School, 12:30pm
Saturday 5 October, v Australia, Knox Grammar School, 5:00pm