Jackson Willison to captain Waikato against Auckland

Getty Images and James Mortimer     14 Sep 2013     Getty Images

There is a forced change at prop with Paul Alo-Emile getting a start after Ben Tameifuna was handed a one-game suspension for stomping during last Friday’s game versus Southland.

Other changes to the run on fifteen are at halfback where Brad Weber will start after coming off the bench in his debut match last week, and Semisi Masirewa who comes onto the left wing with Jackson Willison and Save Tokula moving back into second five and centre respectively.

On the bench prop Latu Talakai, lock Chris Middleton and halfback Mick Snowden return to the playing 22, while utility back Dylan Collier is also back from a pre-season knee injury and is set to make his first ITM Cup appearance.

Waikato head coach Johnny Walters said “it has obviously been a tough couple of weeks for us but our young team is learning plenty from every game.”

“The boys are trying their guts out and we will stick with these young fellas because we know what they are capable of and we are confident they will come right over the next few weeks.”

Gates open at 12.05pm on Saturday with a curtain-raiser - Waikato Under 20s versus Counties Manukau Under 20s - kicking off at 12.15pm. The main game kicks off at 2.35pm.

Saturday’s match will also see the Waikato team show their support to their official charity - Rainbow Place. For more information about Rainbow Place and their connection with the Waikato team go to

Tickets for Saturday’s game can be purchased from

The Waikato team to play Auckland at Waikato Stadium in Hamilton this Saturday (kick off 2.35pm) is:

1. Toby Smith (44)
2. Brayden Mitchell (5)
3. Paul Alo-Emile (5)
4. Brian Alainu'uese (6)
5. Sam Kilgour (14)
6. Rory Grice (16)
7. Jack Lam (35)
8. Adam Burn (5)
9. Brad Weber (1)
10. Wharenui Hawera (4)
11. Semisi Masirewa (5)
12. Jackson Willison [c] (56)
13. Save Tokula (52)
14. Tim Mikkelson (58)
15. Trent Renata (60)

16. Vance Elliott (16)
17. Latu Talakai (18)
18. Chris Middleton (21)
19. Jono Armstrong (13)
20. Mick Snowden (3)
21. Sam Christie (36)
22. Dylan Collier (2)