Blitzbokke win World Games Gold, Argentina Silver, Canada Bronze

Getty Images and James Mortimer     05 Aug 2013     Getty Images

One month after the disappointment of exiting the Rugby World Cup Sevens at the quarter-final stage in Moscow, the South Africans, captained by fit-again Kyle Brown, saw off both France and Argentina en route to the title at the Pascual Guerrero Stadium.

The Argentines claimed the silver medal, while a young Canadian side finished well to overcome France to take bronze at what is the last World Games to feature Rugby Sevens with the sport joining the Olympic Games in Rio in 2016.


The first of the knock-out matches on the second day of competition went to form with South Africa beating Uruguay 36-0, France just edging Hong Kong 14-12, Argentina overpowering the hosts Colombia 49-5 and Canada beating Brazil 26-7.

In the semi-finals the South Africans rose to the challenge against France to win 33-12 and Argentina joined them in the final by beating Canada 19-7.

In the final the flying Seabelo Senatla touched down twice for the Blitzbokke to add to tries from Steven Hunt, Willem-Johannes Strydom and Mark Richards as Vuyo Zangqa's side battled to the 33-24 win against the strong Puma effort.

Canada finished on a high to defeat France and claim the bronze medal, Hong kong beat Brazil to fifth and Uruguay overcame hosts Colombia to finish seventh.

Rugby Sevens at World Games - roll of honour

2013 (Cali)
South Africa - gold
Argentina - silver
Canada - bronze

2009 (Kaohsiung)
Fiji - gold
Portugal - silver
South Africa - bronze

2005 (Duisberg)
Fiji - gold
South Africa - silver
Argentina - bronze

2001 (Akita)
Fiji - gold
Australia - silver
New Zealand - bronze