Forbes, Raikabula and Cama confirmed as RWC7s teams declare squads and James Mortimer     29 Jun 2013

World Series champions New Zealand have recalled some former Sevens players into their squad from the 15-man game, as have Samoa, Fiji, South Africa and Australia.


Pool D (All Blacks Sevens, USA, CAN, GEO)

Captain DJ Forbes returns for New Zealand alongside aerial specialist Sam Dickson and powerful wings Bryce Heem, Waisake Naholo and David Raikuna. Forbes, Lote Raikabula and Tomasi Cama are the only players with prior World Cup experience. USA and Canada both name settled looking sides, Nathan Hirayama taking over the Canucks captaincy for the World Cup. Georgia go with four players who played four years ago in Dubai.


In what is a strong squad on paper, Australia include three players who have lined up against the Lions in recent weeks. Waratahs pair Bernard Foley and Matt Lucas both return for Michael O'Connor alongside Queensland Reds flyer Luke Morahan and the trio join a squad also boosted by the return of forwards Ed Jenkins, Sean McMahon and Jesse Parahi and wing Shannon Walker. France hand a debut to test full-back Jean-Marcellin Buttin in an otherwise settled squad. Tunisia have three of the eight players across the 24 teams set to contest a third Rugby World Cup Sevens, while all of Spain's players play in their first.


Kyle Brown returns from injury to lead an impressive looking South African squad. Cheslin Kolbe and Seabelo Senatla have flown in from France after their World junior exploits and key men from the past return in Ryno Benjamin, Sampie Mastriet and Sibusiso Sithole. For the Scots Colin Gregor and Andrew Turnbull line up in their third Sevens World Cup. Vasily Artemyev and Vladimir Ostroushko spearhead the hosts' charge and Shuetsu Narita and Lote Tuqiri are the danger men for Japan.


Manu Samoa head coach Stephen Betham is back in the Sevens fold as interim coach and, with limited time to prepare, he has drafted Uale Mai, Lolo Lui and Alafoti Faosiliva back into a powerful side also featuring Paul Perez and Ken Pisi. Kenya may miss the injured Dennis Ombachi but Andrew Amonde captains a squad featuring brothers Humphrey Kayange and Collins Injera as well as the recalled Lavin Asego. Captain Jacques Leitao is one of six Zimbabwe players with World Cup experience, while the Philippines are taking part for the very first time.


Alifereti Dere has named his strongest squad of the season with Alipate Ratini returning for the first time since inspiring victory on the Gold Coast at the start of the season. Levani Botia captains a team also featuring the recalled Waisea Nayacalevu, Wotisoni Votu, Vereniki Goneva and Metuisela Talebula. Defending champions Wales have only one player, Lee Williiams, from that famous Cup win four years ago but Adam Thomas leads a strong team featuring fit-again flyers Alex Webber and Chris Knight. Saia Palei is Tonga's only player with World Cup experience while Uruguay have two in Juan Martin Llovet and Santiago Gibernau.


Rob Vickerman captains a settled England side boosted by the return to full fitness of Tom Mitchell. Dan Norton is the danger man out wide and Mark Odejobi makes the squad in the place of Sam Edgerley. 2009 runners-up Argentina have danger men Diego Palma and Matias Moroni in their team but Francisco Merello is the only man to have played four years ago in Dubai. Portugal's Pedro Leal and Hong Kong captain Rowan Varty are both set to play in their third Rugby World Cup Sevens tournament.