NZ Referees McPhail, Gurr and Beard set for RWC7s stage

IRB and James Mortimer     29 Jun 2013     IRB

With IRB High Performance Sevens Referee Manager Paddy O’Brien driving forward elite Sevens match official standards, the men’s panel features the cream of those performing on the Series.

They are: James McPhail (New Zealand); Anthony Moyes; Matthew O’Brien (both Australia); Marius van der Westhuizen; Rasta Rasivhenge (both South Africa); Federico Anselmi (Argentina); Rhys Thomas (Wales); Kevin White (Scotland) and Alexandre Ruiz (France). James Bolabiu (Fiji) is the only male panel member to have officiated in Dubai four years ago.

The panel will be supported by 16 specialist assistant and in-goal referees.

Reaffirming the continued advances in standards of officiating in the Women’s Game, seven of the world’s top female referees have been selected in the panel - three more than for Dubai 2009. They are: Marlize Jordaan (South Africa); Sherry Trumbull (Canada); Amy Perrett (Australia); Chelsea Gurr; Jess Beard (both New Zealand); Leah Berard (USA) and Gabriel Lee (Hong Kong), who took charge of a captivating women’s final in 2009.

They will be supported by seven specialist assistant and in-goal referees, completing a record panel of 14 female match officials selected for the event.