NZ Women's Sevens team named for Amsterdam

International Rugby Board     12 May 2013     International Rugby Board

He has made three changes from the Guangzhou, China tournament including two new caps.

The New Zealand Women’s Sevens team for the Netherlands is:

Kelly Brazier
Sarah Goss
Vaine Greig *
Honey Hireme
Linda Itunu
Huriana Manuel
Kayla McAlister
Tyla Nathan-Wong
Alexis Tapsell*
Ruby Tui
Renee Wickliffe
Portia Woodman

* denotes new cap

Horan said competition for places in the travelling squad had been fierce with many of the 17 women in camp this week pushing for selection. He has named Vaine Greig (Manawatu) and Alexis Tapsell (Canterbury) for their first run with the team, while Renee Wickliffe makes a return to the side.

“With the Rugby World Cup Sevens just seven weeks away, the players have worked hard for selection for this final IRB tournament.

“We are not taking anything for granted so our focus has been on a team that has good depth.

“China demonstrated exactly why we need composure and to focus as a team – and we are looking for more of the same from this side.

“We’re excited and looking forward to this tournament,” Horan said.

New Zealand goes into the Netherlands tournament (17 and 18 May) as Series leaders, eight points clear of nearest rivals England. New Zealand needs to bank a semifinals berth to take the title honours of the first ever IRB Women’s Sevens World Series.

New Zealand face Rugby World Cup Sevens’ hosts Russia, then China, and tournament hosts Netherlands in day one of pool play.

Netherlands Tournament Schedule
National Rugby Centre Amsterdam Stadium:

Friday 17 May (NZT in brackets)
11:28am (NZT 9:28pm) - NZ v Russia
2:12pm (NZT 12:12am 18 May) - NZ v China
4:56pm (2:56am 18 May) - NZ v Netherlands

Saturday 18 May (NZT in brackets)
10:30am – 11:14 (NZT 8:30pm – 9:14pm) - First and last quarterfinals
2:20pm and 2:42pm (NZT 12:20am and 12:42am 19 May) - Semifinals
5:42pm - Final

Follow the NZ Women’s 7s team match results on twitter @NZ7s. Media Advisories wrapping up each day’s play will be issued at the conclusion of the day's play.