Habana presented with award for scoring against All Blacks

Getty Images and James Mortimer     18 Apr 2013     Getty Images

As his Super Rugby side the Stormers stormed to victory over the Sharks, Habana was presented with the award which had been announced back in December.

The wing became the second South African to win the Award, after fellow Springbok Jaque Fourie was afforded the honour in 2009 for his try in the second Test against the British & Irish Lions.

Habana, the IRB Player of the Year in 2007, stunned the All Blacks last year when he burst onto a pass from flanker Francois Louw at full speed, chipped ahead and gathered to score a try that briefly handed the Springboks the lead seven minutes into the second half of the contest in Dunedin. New Zealand went on to win 21-11.

At the time, Habana was delighted with the accolade, which came at the end of a busy season.

“Scoring a try against the All Blacks is always special, but scoring against them in New Zealand is even more special,” said Habana.

“I really enjoyed getting across the try-line in Dunedin – contributing to the success of the team and also lifting the spirits of my teammates.”

“Winning this Award is very special and hopefully I can continue scoring tries for the Springboks for a very long time.”

Jaque Fourie, All Blacks centurion Mils Muliaina, former IRB Player of the Year Shane Williams and Japan’s Daisuke Ohata, the leading try scorer in Test Rugby, formed the panel of judges who opted for Habana’s effort ahead of the three other shortlisted tries scored by New Zealand duo Hosea Gear and Julian Savea and Frenchman Julien Malzieu.

Previous winners:

2011 – Radike Samo (Australia) – Australia v New Zealand
2010 – Chris Ashton (England) – England v Australia
2009 – Jaque Fourie (South Africa) – South Africa v British & Irish Lions
2008 – Brian O’Driscoll (Ireland) – Australia v Ireland