Chiefs development team to play Samoa A

Getty Images and James Mortimer     28 Mar 2013     Getty Images

The Chiefs Development side are coming off a 50-18 win against Tonga ‘A’ on Saturday in Te Kuiti and coach Johnny Walters believes this has given his side confidence.

“Last weekends match was tougher than the score reflected, but as we get more time together, we are beginning to performing more as a unit and the talent from our Provincial Unions is really starting to shine through,” said coach Walters.

“This is a great programme and has given our players a true taste of first class rugby and what they need to do to take the next step forward in their rugby careers.”

The side will also feature Chiefs players: Solomona Sakalia, Michael Kainga and Martino Nemani.

The Chiefs Investec Super Rugby side will take on the Blues at ASB Baypark Stadium in Mount Maunganui on Easter Saturday at 7.35pm.

Tickets for the Chiefs v Blues match start from $5 for kids (5-14 years), $20 for Adults and kids under 4 on the knee are free (all prices incur a service fee). Tickets are available from,, the Baycourt Community Arts Centre in Tauranga and The Warehouse stores in the region including Papamoa and Tauranga. Gates open at 5.30pm.

Chiefs Development Team Matches
Thursday 28 March: Chiefs Development v Samoa ‘A’ @ Albert Park, Te Awamutu, kick off 5.15pm
Tickets to the match is available on match day at the gate.

Chiefs Development Team to play against Samoa ‘A’ on Thursday is:

1. Solomona Sakalia (Chiefs)
2. Nathan Harris (Bay of Plenty)
3. Michael Kainga (Chiefs - Bay of Plenty)
4. Brian Alainu’uese (Waikato)
5. Josh Olsen (Waikato)
6. Johan Bardoul (Bay of Plenty)
7. Maama Viapulu (Counties Manukau)
8. Carl Axtens (Bay of Plenty)
9. Josh Hall (Bay of Plenty)
10. Wharenui Hawera (Waikato)
11. Dillon Collier (Waikato)
12. Regan Ware (Waikato)
13. Save Tokula (Waikato)
14. Tino Nemani (Chiefs)
15. Joe Webber (Waikato)

16. Hame Faiva (Waikato)
17. John Tu’ungafasi (Waikato)
18. Jossan Levien (Waikato)
19. Kane Jacobson (Waikato)
20. Ruan Du Ploy (Waikato)
21. Tom Halse (Counties Manukau)
22. Junior Tofa-Va’a (Bay of Plenty)
23. Josh Davey (Waikato)