Ireland name squad for France - O'Gara overlooked for youth

Getty Images and James Mortimer     05 Mar 2013     Getty Images

An extended squad has been called into Ireland camp this week as part of the preparations for the game against France at the Aviva Stadium.

Both Robbie Henshaw and Daren Cave were not considered due to picking up concussions while playing for their provinces over the weekend.

There are three out-halves included with recent debutant Paddy Jackson and the uncapped Ian Madigan joining Jonathan Sexton in the training panel.

There is no room in the squad for Ronan O'Gara.

The other uncapped players involved are Leinster duo David Kearney and Eoin O'Malley, Ulster's Robbie Diack and Tommy O'Donnell of Munster, with Diack's provincial colleagues, Dan Tuohy and Andrew Trimble, also drafted in.

A full medical update will take place tomorrow at the Ireland team media session at 1pm, but none of the 32 members of the squad have been ruled out of contention for selection against France.

IRELAND Training Squad (v France, 2013 RBS 6 Nations Championship):

Club/Province/International Caps -

Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster/65)
Sean Cronin (St. Mary's College/Leinster/24)
Robbie Diack (Malone/Ulster) *
Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster/37)
Luke Fitzgerald (Blackrock College/Leinster/24)
Declan Fitzpatrick (Dungannon/Ulster/4)
Craig Gilroy (Dungannon/Ulster/4)
Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster/37)
Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster/55) (capt)
Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster/3)
Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster/1)
David Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster) *
Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster/44)
David Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster/5)
Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster) *
Luke Marshall (Ballymena/Ulster/1)
Mike McCarthy (Buccaneers/Connacht/8)
Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster/16)
Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster/17)
Sean O'Brien (UCD/Leinster/25)
Donncha O'Callaghan (Cork Constitution/Munster/93)
Tommy O'Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster) *
Brian O'Driscoll (UCD/Leinster/123)
Peter O'Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster/12)
Eoin O'Malley (Old Belvedere/Leinster) *
Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster/49)
Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster/27)
Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster/26)
Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary's College/Leinster/36)
Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster/49)
Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster/4)
Dan Tuohy (Ballymena/Ulster/5)

* Denotes uncapped player