All Blacks squad named for 2010 Investec Tri Nations     28 Jun 2010    

The All Blacks squad is:


John Afoa Auckland (23)
Anthony Boric North Harbour (15)
Tom Donnelly Otago (7)
Corey Flynn Canterbury (7)
Ben Franks Tasman (2)
Owen Franks Canterbury (12)
Jerome Kaino Auckland (27)
Richie McCaw (capt) Canterbury (83)
Keven Mealamu Auckland (74)
Liam Messam Waikato (3)
Kieran Read Canterbury (19)
Brad Thorn Canterbury (40)
Victor Vito Wellington (2)
Samuel Whitelock Canterbury (3)
Tony Woodcock North Harbour (63)


Daniel Carter Canterbury (69)
Jimmy Cowan Southland (36)
Aaron Cruden Manawatu (3)
Israel Dagg Hawke’s Bay (2)
Cory Jane Wellington (15)
Richard Kahui Waikato (10)
Mils Muliaina Waikato (83)
Ma’a Nonu Wellington (46)
Rene Ranger Northland (1)
Josevata Rokocoko Auckland (62)
Conrad Smith Wellington (35)
Benson Stanley Auckland (3)
Piri Weepu Wellington (38)

Number of Test caps in brackets

The squad is made up of 15 forwards and 13 backs, with the forwards bolstered by the return of New Zealand Maori captain Liam Messam, who lead the Maori side to a superb three–match clean–sweep in the recent Sealord New Zealand Maori Centenary Series, and his New Zealand Maori team–mate, Canterbury and Crusaders hooker Corey Flynn, who returns to the front row alongside returning Auckland and Blues prop John Afoa.

All Blacks Coach Graham Henry said the selection of Flynn was subject to him passing a medical and fitness test which would take place this week.

In the backs, 46–Test centre Ma’a Nonu returns to the All Blacks following his recovery from a posterior cruciate ligament injury, suffered in the Hurricanes final Rebel Sport Super 14 match last month. Nonu returned to rugby yesterday, playing for his Oriental–Rongotai club side in Wellington.

Canterbury and Crusaders lock Sam Whitelock and Northland and Blues wing Rene Ranger, who have provided injury cover for the All Blacks during the Steinlager Series, have also been officially selected in the All Blacks squad.

Players from the Steinlager Series squad missing out on selection for the Investec Tri Nations are Aled de Malmanche, Neemia Tialata, Adam Thomson and Zac Guildford.

Players not considered for selection due to injury include: Mike Delany (shoulder), Stephen Donald (shoulder), Jason Eaton (knee), Andrew Hore (shoulder), Sitiveni Sivivatu (shoulder), Isaia Toeava (hip) and Ali Williams (Achilles).

Graham Henry said: “We are really pleased with the way the squad has developed during the Steinlager Series and the players are really looking forward to the Investec Tri Nations. It’s the toughest international rugby competition in the world and will be another fantastic Series against two old foes.”

The All Blacks squad will begin preparations with a two–day camp in Auckland next week (Friday and Saturday).

The All Blacks first Test of the Investec Tri Nations is the highly–anticipated, sold–out Test against South Africa at Eden Park, Auckland, on Saturday 10 July. The All Blacks then play South Africa the following weekend (Saturday 17 July) at Westpac Stadium, Wellington. The team has the next weekend off before heading to Australia to play the Wallabies in Melbourne (Saturday 31 July). A return match against the Wallabies in Christchurch is the following weekend (Saturday 7 August) with the All Blacks then heading to South Africa to play the Springboks in Johannesburg on Saturday 21 August. The All Blacks final Investec Tri Nations match against the Wallabies is in Sydney on Saturday 11 September.

2010 Investec Tri Nations match schedule

Saturday 10 July All Blacks v South Africa Eden Park, Auckland
Saturday 17 July All Blacks v South Africa Westpac Stadium, Wellington
Saturday 24 July Australia v South Africa Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Saturday 31July Australia v All Blacks Etihad Stadium, Melbourne
Saturday 7 August All Blacks v Australia AMI Stadium, Christchurch
Saturday 21 August South Africa v All Blacks Coca–Cola Park, Johannesburg
Saturday 28 August South Africa v Australia Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
Saturday 4 September South Africa v Australia Vodacom Park, Bloemfontein
Saturday11 September Australia v All Blacks ANZ Stadium, Sydney