New Zealand Under 19 squad named     18 Feb 2005

National Sevens players Tanerau Latimer from the Bay of Plenty and Auckland’s Isaia Toeava have been included in the squad.

“It wasn’t easy to select the squad simply because we have so many talented players around and it was hard to leave out some of them,” McLean said.

The squad will assemble in Rotorua on 11 March for a training camp which will include two warm-up matches.

New Zealand are the defending champions and will play Wales, Romania and England in pool matches at the tournament that will be held in Durban, South Africa from 1-17 April.

New Zealand Under 19 squad: Dean Budd and Isaia Toeava (Auckland), Tanerau Latimer and Lance MacDonald (Bay of Plenty), Steve Alfeld, Tim Bateman, Jonathan Direen, Robbie Flynn, Charles O’Connell, Baydon Phillips, Mason Pomare and Nicholas Thomson (Canterbury), Sekope Kepu (Counties Manukau), Nick Crosswell, Scott Murphy and George Whitelock (Manawatu), George Pisi (North Harbour), Daniel Bowden and Justin Davies (Northland), Josh Bekhuis and Dane Shelford (Southland), Vern Kamo (Waikato), Dane Coles, Faifili Levave, Tama Makamaka and Seminar Manu (Wellington)